The Pen is Mightier than the Sword!

For the second time in as many months, I’ve been notified that a site where I’d been posting article content since 2005 or so is shutting down. First it was Helium.com; now it’s Yahoo Voices (formerly Associated Content). I think this is just the beginning of the death of the dinosaur/content mills. Who’s next – Triond, Ezines, Article Snatch, HubPages, Examiner? These are all places where I’d posted content.

As a freelance writer, I am acutely aware that the landscape of “writing for dollars” has changed dramatically in the past 10 or so years. When I started out posting content to these content mill sites, I was looking for exposure and validation of my ability to tell a good story. The payoff was usually only pennies-per-view. But I did earn a few actual dollars on 2-3 of the articles submitted. And I gained the confidence to pursue a “career” as a freelance writer. That landed me at Odesk in 2010 and other freelance job search sites where I got one long-term gig and several other short-term gigs. The long-term gig ended a few months ago and I’ve been searching for another one ever since. The details of how that is going are fodder for a separate post.

Regarding to the death of the content mills and my content on them, I’ve been scrambling to retrieve my articles and posts. I still have the original document for most of them. But it’s been almost 10 years since I created some of them. I think I can salvage/revise/update/re-purpose many of them. Ironically, I did just that for a recent posting on Yahoo Voices and they rewarded me with an upfront payment of $6.00. But now that site will be shutting down next month.

So I need to find another home for the several articles I’ve written/posted on these dinosaur sites. In the near term, it may be this WordPress blog.

Leave a Reply

