The Pen is Mightier than the Sword!

For a lot of my “fun writing”, I draw upon the little slices of life – my own and other people’s adventures and encounters. Sometimes it’s as innocuous as friend’s posting on Facebook; a thought that jumps into my head while I’m looking for work; a typo or misuse of a metaphor, etc. I could spend all my time on this alone. Long story short…. Here are a few ideas bouncing around in my head that I don’t have time to write out:

Killing Time – Saw a friend’s posting on Facebook about this. My immediate response was “Keep in mind – the time you kill now is time you’ll wish you had later for something more important. Just sayin’…..

Wouldn’t it be GREAT if a job-seeker could bill time for the hours spent just looking for a job?

The “Success of Failure” – First saw this as a typo/misuse of words. The writer meant to say “the success or failure….”. I was surprised to find that some brilliant writer turned that misuse of phrase into a book he’s selling on Amazon.

The “Gig/Jig is Up” – in 2 days of watching favorite TV shows, I heard the phrase misused 2 of 3 times as the “gig is up”. The correct phrase is “the JIG is up”. I don’t know why it matters to me. And apparently over time, jig/ and gig in this phrase have become synonymous. AAARRRGH!!! 

A title/headline/banner of an article on my Yahoo home page: “What Does Your Retirement Look Like?”. My short answer: Dismal. Like many people in the past 10+ years, I’ve had to use my retirement savings to keep a roof over my head. At my age (nearly 60), jobs that pay enough for me to be financially independent are as scarce as a needle in a haystack.

The Big Wedding For a 50+ Bride – Really? This subject is so sensitive that I can’t even write about it in a public forum, unless I do it anonymously. 

I could go on and on. Since I first starting freelance creative writing, I have amassed several subjects/titles for articles. Some got as far as the draft stage. Many more continue to pop up, even when I’m engaged in the time-waster activity of watching TV. Everyday life is such a fertile ground for the grist that can become an article. 

Leave a Reply

